Frying Pan Turkey Meatballs

Happy Monday everyone!

So with the ridiculous amount of tomatoes that our plants keep gracing us with, we have been in mega sauce production mode. No sooner had I finished making a wicked large batch of spaghetti sauce, than we yielded another crop of tomatoes and I was left going, OK, more sauce! I wanted meatballs, but I try to reserve my “red meat moments” for my occasional steak. Turkey it was!

Ground turkey can be a hazard unto itself. Because there are not percentages of fat to meat ratio on a number of ground turkey products, you can actually end up eating something MORE unhealthy than an 80/20 ground beef. When buying turkey, look for lean or extra lean meat. I conveniently found a 99% to 1% ratio this time. It was really yummy. Also, you can opt to bake them, but with all of this heat I went for the skillet!

For my sauce recipe, see Kelyn’s Rainbow Tomato Sauce.  This incarnation was more of a roasted red pepper version.

Ingredients

1 lb “all natural” extra lean ground turkey
1 -2 teaspoons chopped, local, organic garlic
1TBSP Fennel seeds
1 extra large egg (from our ladies!)
1/2 cup bread crumbs (unseasoned)
1 tsp organic dry oregano
1 tsp organic dry basil
1 tsp organic dry rosemary
Sea Salt and 4-color pepper to taste
Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1.) Add everything to a bowl. Mix it up with your hands until you can’t see the individual elements anymore.
2.) In a large frying pan, heat up enough oil to lightly cover the bottom of the pan over medium – medium high heat.
3.) While your oil heats up, roll your meatballs. I made them about an inch in diameter. If you try to roll them too hard, they can just fall to pieces. It is best to give a little roll between your palms, and then shape them into circles.
4.) When they are complete, gently place them in the pan. I usually try to “seal” 3 sides  of them, and then just toss them around in the pan every couple of minutes until they are brown on all sides. It took about 20-25 minutes I think (but honestly, I wasn’t hawk-eyeing the clock). I cut into one at about 15-20 minutes and saw that it wasn’t quite done. I let them go another 5 and they were good to go. Serve in sammies or atop your favorite pasta.

2 thoughts on “Frying Pan Turkey Meatballs

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

